California’s Penal Code Section 290, also known as the Sex Offender Registration Act, outlines the requirements to register as a sex offender for those who have been convicted of a sex-related crime. This conviction may come with jail time and/or a fine but you must be aware of whether you are required by law to register as a sex offender. If you knowingly and willfully fail to register, you maybe subject to penalties under CPC Section 290.
Do you need to register?
If you have been found guilty of a California sex offense, you face the devastating penalty of being required to register as a sex offender. In addition to the punishments already set against you, you could be faced with years in prison if you failed to fulfill your registration duties. Under CPC Section 290, those who fail to register with city police or local law enforcement are punishable by up to 3 years in a state prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Sex crimes are taken very seriously in the state of California. It is therefore imperative that you attain experienced attorneys who possess an intimate knowledge of California’s sex crime laws and will argue your case and spot the flaws in the prosecution’s story.
Contact a skilled Los Angeles Attorney
Because sex offenders are prosecuted so intensely, if you are facing charges under CPC Section 290 it is important that you hire a knowledgeable, experienced defense attorney. Our office of attorneys have years of experience defending sex-related crimes in the state of California and are prepared to fight your charges and seek the best possible outcome in your case. Contact a criminal defense lawyer with Okabe and Haushalter today to determine how we can help you in your case.